It's better for you than half the stuff you THINK is good for you.

Beethoven and Baggage, and New Horizons, Too – 29 August 2012

So.

I’ve just arrived at the first airport on my five-city, seventy-five hundred mile journey – Charlotte-Douglas International Airport. And I hope I’m not humming Beethoven so loudly that the people sitting next to me get creeped out about it. But it’s Beethoven, and it’s his Violin Concerto, no less.

Ludwig’s my right hand for this leg of the trip.

I hum to myself often. I have full conversations with myself, too. I’m an offbeat kinda guy, in case you had no idea.

The entire six-hour bus ride out here, my mind was curiously blank. No second thoughts, no third guesses. This is happening, and I’m excited.

My last night in Charleston was a good one – the best one, in fact. The perfect way to say good-bye to the Holy City.

But onto new horizons as they say – and by they, I mean me.

It turns out that I’m fifteen hours early for my flight out of Douglas, so I’m sure there’ll be lots of time for reflection. But this isn’t a time for tears, though.

That was actually something that had crossed my mind a few times in the past three-and-a-half months – Would I cry? I’m not the type, but this is a pretty big deal, you know. I figured if the waterworks were going to flow, they would have when I said my final good-byes. But it was pretty standard, and dry. I miss my family, my extended family of friends, and the Holy City like crazy already, but I’m not a five-year-old.

This just ain’t me.

As I sit facing the ticket counter and watch the other travelers walk past me on their way to their gates, I realize that this is really something special. Nobody here has any idea where I’m going, and they’d never guess in a million years, either.

I don’t even know what’s waiting across the horizon yet. But I’m excited as hell.

2 responses

  1. sethdeepend

    I miss hearing various concertos and symphonies being hummed, sung, and occasionally yelled from the room across the hall. 😦 You’re going to have an awesome time, brother!

    August 29, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    • yeah, but i wish you here tho, seth.

      August 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

