It's better for you than half the stuff you THINK is good for you.

All I Want For Christmas is to Sightsee-Smash Seoul Something Proper – 25 December 2012

Well friends, we’ve all survived the end of the world as we know it, so pat your bad-ass selves on the back as you apparently are deserving of one. 

Merry Christmas to you all, as well.

Today, I’m embarking on an odyssey of sorts, to Seoul with a friend of mine from school. Yes people, the reservations have been made, the flight has been booked, and it’s off to Seoul for three frigid days without an overcoat, in -8 degree weather (about 18 degrees Fahrenheit for those so inclined to know). 

Fun times ahoy, right? Damn straight.

This is the first time I’ve ever planned anything like this, so I don’t really know what to expect – which I’m sure is a good thing. Okay, I planned this trip to Japan – you got me. But I’m living here, so the search for an affordable place to stay wasn’t really an issue. Planning this trip was one of the most adult things I’ve ever done in my short adult life. Accomplishment achieved.

What do I plan to do? Well, there’s N Seoul Tower, gotta get a few pics from up there. There’s also the Five Grand Palaces, I’ll visit as many of them as possible. Oh, and there’s a humongous music store, so large it’s built on stilts to allow the traffic to flow like quicksilver beneath it. There’s a huge expat community here, and American servicemen stationed in Itaewon, so that’s another op for a photo right there. There’s the New Songdo International Business District, newly built as the center of business for the satelite city of Incheon, third largest city in South Korea.

Don’t even get me started on the damn subway, purported to be the best on earth. Really, I could go on for hours, solid hours.

All I want for Christmas is to sightsee-smash Seoul something proper, and dare I say I’ll have three days in which to try. Try. I’ll definitely get my money’s worth, believe that.

Oh, one more cool thing – my effing hotel is actually in Gangnam. Seriously. Don’t expect to see any photos of me ‘Gangnam Style’-ing it up though.

Okay, maybe one or two. And if I happen to spot PSY, I’ll tell him you said hello.

 

 

Leave a Reply

